TAMassociati wins the Aga Khan Award for Architecture with the Emergency ngo Salam Centre in Sudan



Lisbon, August 2013 – His Excellency Aníbal Cavaco Silva, President of the Portuguese Republic and His Highness the Aga Khan will present the Aga Khan Awards for Architecture at the Castle of São Jorge in Lisbon on 6 September.

One of the five winning projects is:
Salam Centre for Cardiac Surgery, Khartoum, Sudan

Architect: Studio Tamassociati
Client: Emergency

The Salam Centre for Cardiac Surgery, which consists of a hospital with 63 beds, serves over 50,000 patients per year, drawing from a catchment area in eastern Africa of over 300 million people. The welcoming architecture “provides an exemplary prototype for the region as well as for the field”, remarked the Master Jury in their citation. The Centre meets the high technical demands of a hospital with complex functions, including three operating theatres, while providing a number of eco-friendly solutions to common problems. Mixed modes of ventilation and natural light enable all spaces to be homely and intimate. In addition to solar panels and special insulation techniques, the architects have reused 90 six- metre (20-foot) containers that had been discarded after being used to transport construction materials for the Centre.

Jury Citation

“The Salam Centre for Cardiac Surgery champions the vision and resilience of all involved in delivering a responsible, efficient and inspiring model of health services in a society marred by war, internal conflict and lack of basic needs like water and sanitation.”

“Intimately linked to surrounding nature, the “self-build” project facilitates an environment of clarity and healing, while providing the fundamental human right of health, free of charge to all. Following a bottom-up design process, this complex project evolved successfully by creatively engaging all its local, political, social, topographical and aesthetic specificities without sacrificing its vision for excellence and function. The compact state-of-the-art hospital also provides an exemplary prototype for the region as well as for the field.”

For further informations:

The Aga Khan Award for architecture

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture, which was established by His Highness the Aga Khan in 1977, is given every three years. It recognises all types of building projects that affect today’s built environment, from modest, small-scale projects to sizable complexes.
As this cycle’s recipients illustrate, the Award’s mandate is different from that of many other architecture prizes: it selects projects – from innovative mud and bamboo schools to state of the art “green” buildings – that not only exhibit architectural excellence but also improve the overall quality of life.